Top Home Warranty Companies

Company Name Average Rating Plan Fee Call Fee
1. American Home Guardian
9.2
389
50
Rate it!
2. Allied Home Warranty
5.2
395
60
Rate it!
3. Globe Home Warranty
4.22
379
55
Rate it!
4. Warranty Global Group
4.17
415
75
Rate it!
5. Residential Protection
4.09
459
75
Rate it!
6. Liberty Home Protection
3.84
429
75
Rate it!
7. The Warranty Group (Aon)
3.75
399
75
Rate it!
8. Advantage Home Warranty
3.5
480
40
Rate it!
9. Blue Ribbon Home Warranty
3.4
300
55
Rate it!
10. Universal Home Protection
3.06
425
85
Rate it!

Recent Reviews

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: Jody Hamel
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-09-25
1
1
1
1

I have had AHS for 10 months and just recently "tried" to use it for the first time. I could go on for days but I'll try to keep this short. The company that they chose to fix my oven was terrible, and AHS won't do anything about it.

I had to call AHS 3 times, waiting on hold an average of 30 minutes each time, because the repair company had not contacted me regarding making an appointment after my filling out the service request (this was promised to happen within 24 hours).

Once I finally got the appointment made and the guy out to my house, I had to spend 10 minutes arguing with him that it was not, in fact, impossible for my oven to spontaneously lock itself as if it were in cleaning mode. Once I finally got the oven to do its trick (as the repair man was halfway out my door), he acknowledged the issue, said he needed a part and I would be contacted to schedule a new appointment. Four more calls to AHS. I finally schedule an appointment a week and a half in advance. About 12 hours prior to my appointment I get a voicemail saying that the 8-12 time we scheduled didn't work, so they are changing it from 2-6. When I called the company the next morning saying I couldn't do 2-6, only 2-4 the receptionist refused to help me and acted as if I was the one causing all the problems!

Another call to AHS. I was informed that because the repair company had the part in their possession they could not switch me to a new vendor (??). When I told the rep at AHS that I don't think I will be doing business with them he simply replied with "well, that is your prerogative."

I have worked my way up to the woman who originally sold the policy to the previous owner of my house. For three days straight: she calls in the morning and says we're going to get you a new vendor, then calls back in the afternoon saying that she can't and the original vendor will call within 24 hours. I'm sure you can guess that for 3 days straight, that has not happened.

This company seems to have no motivation to help their customers deal with the horrible vendors they assign. Case in point: the vendor that I have had the joy of dealing with has 1 star on yelp. Maybe AHS should try that website out…

This company is a scam, don't waste your money

Company: Fidelity National Home Warranty
Reviewer: jennifer
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-09-19
1
1
1
1

I purchased a home warranty policy from Fidelity National Home Warranty company. On the first request to fix a few items at my home, it was necessary to send two different companies. Both companies review the separate item issues and told me they could not fix. It cost $60 dollars per person… So, it cost me $120 dollars to have people tell me they could not fix either problem at my home. It cost me close to $600 to get the policy. Complete waste of money on all fronts. My handyman costs $300 dollars a day…that is a far better investment and one you as a homeowner should select…DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY…

Company: Sensible Home Warranty
Reviewer: Confused
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-07-26
1
1
1
1

I have had Sensible for a few months now (purchased May 12th) and now that summer has arrived my AC will not turn on. So I called to make a claim and after 12 days I finally had an HVAC company come out. Now they want proof it was working when I purchased my plan so I am sending them my inspection report I have.

They look for any way not to pay…stay away from this company.

Company: Total Protect
Reviewer: Chris H.
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-07-01
5
1
1
1

I chose the upgraded total protect gold thinking it was a better investment since the limit was $50,000 for any repair cost and $75 service fee. I made a claim and they sent a plumber instead of HVAC for the furnace! Finally, after a week the guy comes looks at it without opening the furnace or anything and tells me he was going to submit the report and total protect was going to contact me. Well, week later nothing. I called total protect for the status, they tell me they sent me a letter saying my claim was denied! They referred me to the contractors company stating I can get a quote from them to repair the problem! If you want to throw away $75 service fee so they can tell you its not covered and still pay the monthly premium! please everyone do your homework on these scam companies!

Company: American Home Shield (AHS)
Reviewer: Dan B
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-06-13
1
5
4
1

I had a home warranty with AHS that just expired. My trade service fee was $60 per service at the time, it has since climbed to $75. I had AHS contact me a plumber, and the service was done properly and timely; however, I paid the contractor cash for the service call and was given a receipt. 2 months later, AHS sends me a bill for the $60 I had already paid. I called and spoke to customer service, who told me they would verify with the contractor and call me back to let me know this error was taken care of. I never received a call back and had to call again 2 days later, only to be told that I was wrong and I never paid. AHS did not care to properly explain the situation to the contractor and assumed I never paid. I then called the contractor directly with my receipt invoice number and had them dig around (which AHS obviously was too busy to do). Within a few minutes they had found the error, fixed it and called me back. This leads me to believe that AHS never called over there to inquire about this false charge and told me that my bill was still outstanding. Bottom line is that I had to make 6 calls to AHS to sort this out and the customer service is horrendous. I did NOT nor will not renew my warranty with AHS, and I would not recommend them to anyone.

Company: Total Protect
Reviewer: DAVID
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-06-08
8
2
4
3

They always have great customer service reps on the phone..but the cantractors they hire are bottom of the barrell and its hit and miss. Just had a major repair done and they did pay for the entire downstairs AC/Heat pump unit and the duct work under the home…the no-covered charges were 625-..a little high but fare considering everything else is brand new. Took their contractor about a month to do…kept braking apts and was rude. They guy ordered the wrong part, but after I called and talked to a supervisor they paid to expidite the part. So far its still blowing fine. Most of there other contractors were much easier to work with…we're still debating if we are going to loose them or not.

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: B. Smith
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-04-24
1
1
1
1

I have no doubts that Choice Home Warranty are pure crooks. I purchased a home warranty then called back to Cancel the next day. They had their salesman call me back to confirm. I told him, after hearing his speech, I still intended to cancel. Later I learned he put in the notes, that I did not intend to cancel.

Then it took some effort to get a cancellation form out of them, which of course I faxed back in, got a confirmation as Received on my fax machine. But wait, of course, they don't seem to have that on file.

Calling back, the customer service reps seem shady, always promising to have someone call me back or email me, guess what that never happens. My saga continues, thanks Choice Home Warranty for ripping me off, you are awful.

DO NOT USE CHOICE HOME WARRANTY!!!! Please save yourself!!!

Company: Choice Home Warranty
Reviewer: Martainn Lenhardt
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-03-14
1
1
1
1

Company paid claim to previous owner and told me that it was my fault and I had to find previous owner to collect claim money. Will NEVER have this company cover any of my homes.

Company: Sensible Home Warranty
Reviewer: Clay
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-03-13
1
7
7
1

I am a contractor with AA Appliance who was contacted by Sensible Home to perform needed repairs for a couple of their clients. I have completed both jobs and submitted my invoices for payment minus the deductibles I received from their clients. First job was started mid Sept 2011 and after factory ordering replacement part and completing job in early Oct and completing one more job in end of Dec 2011 I am still awaiting payment for over $300 in outstanding invoices in Mar 2012. They seem to be ok at getting their clients issues resolved in a timely manner but after their clients are happy with their appliances fixed up it seems they choose to stiff the repair company. After many messages left with their answering service with promised response within 48 hours and same time with e-mail. What a joke. At best if you actually get a hold of anyone who supposedly has authority to send payment rest assured your check is in the mail they just have to send it around the world by row boat a couple times first and then you should get it.

Company: Sensible Home Warranty
Reviewer: Carl’s Appliance
Service
Timeliness
Replacement
Overall
Date: 2012-01-23
1
1
1
1

Worst company we have ever done work for, they don't pay there bills.

More Reviews – Ordered by Date